Just your ordinary, everyday mastermind- INTJ Stereotypes Survey


Recently, I took the MBTI self- evaluation and scored as an INTJ. Here’s my  response to the common stereotypes about INTJs. .

INTJ Stereotypes Survey

Intelligent: I think so. I have a decent  IQ, a very active imagination and very high concentration levels when I’m doing something I want to do.

Psychopath: No. Just because I have certain personality traits of criminal masterminds, it doesn’t mean I’ll follow you  home, hide in your cupboard and murder you with a chainsaw when you’re asleep.

No feelings: I am very much moved by human suffering… especially when it concerns the fictional characters I love. But  my feelings don’t usually control my actions or even my expressions.

Atheist: Not sure. I don’t mind believing in God, but I can’t stand organised religion. It’s the main cause of violence and intolerance in this world. Besides, all religions are misogynistic to a certain extent.

Not romantic: Thanks to all the books I’ve read, I have my own notions of romance.

Arrogant: I’m quite modest. I don’t like receiving compliments because I’m already aware of my qualities and I hate flattery.

Brutal and direct:  I don’t see the point in beating around the bush but I believe in being polite and considerate.

Manipulate people all the time: Not at all. I’m proud of honesty and my whole body revolts if I try to lie.

Robots in reality: No way. Robots are unimaginative and predictable.

Antisocial: Most definitely.

Can’t say “I love you”: I cannot remember ever having said that. I can’t say such things unless I really mean them.

Want to be alone 24/7: Almost always. I really enjoy being alone with my thoughts…

Can’t smile: Not unless there is a reason for it. I can’t fake smiles when I meet people or pose for photos.

Don’t/can’t care about others: I do care deeply for some people, though I don’t know how to show it.

Megalomaniacs by nature: No, I just wish to be left alone to do my own thing.

Don’t cry: I do. I often get teary eyed while reading really good fiction or watching emotional scenes in movies. (Try watching the animation film ‘Grave of the Fireflies’.)

Cannot/will not fight: I don’t fight over petty things. I prefer to conserve my energy for the really important fights.

Like conflict: I don’t like conflict but I don’t shy away from arguing about things to prove my point.

Self-centered: You could say that. I like to help others but only if my own interests are not harmed.

Appear to be on drugs: No.

Easily bored if not inspired: Yes, there have been times when I’ve almost died of boredom, stuck in a social situation with boring people making meaningless conversation. On those days I’m just glad I don’t have a gun.

7 thoughts on “Just your ordinary, everyday mastermind- INTJ Stereotypes Survey

  1. I am an INTJ female and there are not many of us. I am stereotypically INTJ in a lot of ways, but I am also a Christian and have been for many years. I think that it has warmed the cold edges.

    What I find difficult about being an INTJ, is that many people assume I’m arrogant, or cold, or unfeeling, but I am not. Like you, I am greatly moved by human suffering and I actually care about people a great deal. I just don’t want them in my face.

    As an INTJ I have found motherhood very difficult, but against the odds I have managed to raise a happy, well-adjusted young woman who feels loved and secure. I’m not sure how that happened but I am pleased that I only had the one and didn’t increase the risks.

    Being an INTJ is not easy, but I wouldn’t know how to be any other way. My daughter (who is obsessed with MBTI), has taken it on as her personal mission in life to teach me adequate social cues, and regularly sends me out of fast food joints as she believes my blank expression (commonly known as the death stare) intimidates staff. I’m not thinking evil thoughts; generally just trying to work out what excuse I can offer myself for eating at a place that buys animal products from inhumane factory farms. I’m often also wondering if the restaurant of choice only employs staff with a IQ less than 80 and that’s why they don’t know the difference between soy milk and dairy. Anyway, I’m starting to rant. Thanks for your article; it was a good read.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks. I’ve never met any INTJ female in person, so I’m always glad to meet them on the net. I’m just 21, but I hope I’ll be able to handle all the stuff you’ve written about when I have to. We sure have a lot of silly stereotypes to deal with.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. i like your perspective!

    Like

  3. Louann says:

    Woah! I’m really loving the template/theme of this website.

    It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s tough to get that “perfect balance”
    between usability and appearance. I must say that you’ve done a great job with this.
    Additionally, the blog loads super quick for me on Chrome.
    Exceptional Blog!

    Like

  4. Being an INTJ myself, I can relate to pretty much everything you’ve written here. I actually just started my own blog (introvertatuni.wordpress.com) which is all about what it’s like being an introvert attending university. You’d be surprised at how often these stereotypes come into play in any given social setting.

    As far as labels go, I don’t think INTJs would call themselves ‘antisocial’. We’re not really hostile towards society, we just can’t be bothered to interact with them. Indifference is our default response to any social situation, so if anything, we’re asocial.

    Great blog, by the way!

    Like

Leave a Reply

